Valdez Hosts Aurora Music Festival

VHS Music Director Ann Norris – Valdez hosted 475 students from 16 schools during the Aurora Music Festival this past weekend.  Students participated in Mass and Honor Bands and Choirs culminating in a Finale Concert on Saturday afternoon.

Students from Valdez presented solos and ensembles and the following were graded as “Superior” and qualify for the ASAA State Festival:

Gabby Franklin:  Vocal solo

Band members:  Handbell ensemble

Rowan Miller:  Clarinet solo

Isaac Fannin:  2 vocal solos

Jared Bowden:  Piano solo

Christopher Cummins:  Piano solo

Jazz Band

Devon Price:  Jazz Solo

Hali Baczuk, Gabby Franklin:  Vocal duet

Sara Bauman:  Vocal solo

Rylee Norris, Johnathan Banner, Christopher Cummins, Jared Bowden:  Brass quartet (Command Performance at the festival)

Haleigh Ficek, Lexie Henderson, Caitlin Mond, Jillian Fleming:  Vocal quartet

First Chair Awards

Soprano 1:   Gabby Franklin

Alto 1:  Hali Baczuk

Trombone: Rylee Norris

Euphonium:  Johnathan Banner

Tuba: Christopher Cummins

Percussion:  Jared Bowden

Participating schools were Tok, Glennallen, Glacier View, Delta, Houston, Anderson, Tri-Valley, Nenana, Steller, Grace Christian, Anchorage Christian, Cordova, Whitestone, Su-Valley, and Valdez.