BP Alaska Teachers of Excellence Program: Past Valdez Teachers Honored and 2016 Nomination Information

Since the program’s inception in 1995, 13 Valdez teachers have been honored in the annual BP Teachers of Excellence Program. The program recognizes Alaska teachers’ exceptional work. Nomination deadline is February 1st.

Year       Last First                  School

2012       Kyle Moeller           Hermon Hutchens Elementary School

2002      Peter Austad           Hermon Hutchens Elementary School

2002      Adam Sharrai        Valdez High School

2001      Sheri Beck               Gibson Jr. High

2001      Kim Mackey            Valdez High School

2001      Jan Michaul-Whalen    Hermon Hutchens Elementary

2001      Candace Walker      Herman Hutchens Elementary

2000     Patsy Collins Patsy         Hermon Hutchens Elementary

2000     Susan Elde              Valdez High School

2000     Laura Lappies        Hermon Hutchens Elementary

2000     John Strang            Valdez High School

1999      Barbara Lyons        Valdez High School

1999      Roz Strang              Hermon Hutchens Elementary


BP is currently accepting nominations for the annual BP Teachers of Excellence program, which recognizes Alaska teachers’ exceptional work. Anyone can nominate a BP Teacher of Excellence by visiting BPteachers.com. The deadline for nominations is February 1, 2016.

The program will honor K-12 teachers from public or private schools who have made important contributions to education and their communities over the past year. Each BP Teacher of Excellence will receive a $500 gift card and a $500 matching grant to their school. BP also will select one Teacher of the Year who will receive a $1,500 scholarship for continuing education.